top of page

week ten

Week 10's working week was nothing out of the unusually, it was hectic. With only 3 weeks to go the pressure is on to complete all tasks and part of me is slightly concerned. Since starting at Soundbrenner we have become a vital part in social media, web design and some video content making, meaning we are getting requests for designs that they can use after we leave. Overall making our workload insane. I need to start saying no to the smaller requests as realistically I won't be able to get it all done. Yet since we have been offered a paid design job at Soundbrenner that we can do from home (very exciting!) if we don't get it all done we can always do it then. Yet with my endless list constantly looming, the work hours have been long (11+ hours daily) and sleep has been reduced. But I try to keep telling myself this is character building and is an insight to what the industry will be like. God I hope it is not like this always... Any who my working week was sadly struck short as on Friday the devil visited again. Food poisoning. Unable to be too far from a bathroom, I was bed ridden for the day yet did bits of work from home so I wouldn't be further behind. Slowly on the mend, on Saturday I ventured out of my room and to Central to browse the shops and ride the Dings Dings (similar to a tram). Due to it being a blue bird day, in the afternoon Lilian and myself headed to Repulse Bay to soak up the sun and sand. This beach is no where near as nice as Tai Long Wan yet by being so close to town if you just want a quick dip and fry in the sun it is perfect. Sunday rolled around and I was feeling far better. With our time running out (only one more weekend to go!?!) we headed to 10,000 Buddhas in Sha Tin. It was sticky 30 degrees with humidity in the high 80's/mid 90's, you could say it was extremely hot. Yet with grandma's powering up the hill through the golden buddhas it was time to stop complaining. My 21 year old fit(ish) body has got this. On this particular Sunday it was Buddhas birthday. Hundreds of local Chinese ventured to the top of the hill to the temple to pay their respects and take part in worship. At the temple incense suffocated the air and worship songs filled the silence. The elderly to new born were here to celebrate. It was special to see and showed me how important religion is to the Chinese culture. Growing up in a family who does go to church on the rare occasion, it is nothing compared to the commitment these people put in. We were finished with 10,000 Buddhas (there is actually 10,000 buddhas!!) by lunch time and headed back into town. The remainder of the day was spent in Stanley looking through the market and watching a dragon boat festival. Due to being Buddhas birthday we had the Monday off. My original plan was to explore Lamma Island yet the stress of work took over and I spent the whole day working instead. I am annoyed at myself for doing this as what I worked on, its deadline was moved further back and ended up not achieving anything. So practically a day wasted. Yet reflecting on this I don't want it to happen again next weekend on my time off so I will work longer hours this week.



Overall reflecting on the past 10 weeks I can't believe how fast the time has gone. Feeling both excitement and sadness around finishing at Soundbrenner, I want to really make the most of my final 2 weeks. This is both through my work and activities outside. I know now I will stay in contact with people I have meet in Hong Kong yet I want to make the most of the remaining time I have with them. So with that bring it on.


bottom of page